It’s the Season of Peril Again!

NewImageImage: Jennifer Gordon and Roman Sirotin, for RIP

Thanks to Acid Free Pulp for reminding me: it’s time for that annual Fall reading challenge R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril, which runs from the beginning of September until Halloween. I did this last year, and it was fun not only to share the stories I read with a new (to me) audience, but also to read about the books and stories that they liked, as well. I found a lot of new book blogs that way.

NewImage

As with last year, I’m going to do this in a small way; I already know this will be a busy fall. I’m committing to two books that I’ve been meaning to read for forever, and this is the perfect time:

  • Lower Myths by Eliza Victoria. Nancy Cudis at the memoriter mentioned this one a long long time ago, and it’s time for me to take it off my “To Read” list.
  • The Haunted Bookshop, by Christopher Morley

Again like last year, I’ll participate in Peril of the Short Story on the side. Looking over my entries from last year, I notice that the collections and anthologies that I said I would be sampling from weren’t the ones I ended up reading, but here’s my planned list, anyway:

  • The Weird: A Compendium of Dark and Strange Stories.Yes, I used this one last year, but it’s huge, and I still haven’t finished it. Though I’ve loved everything I’ve read in it, so far.
  • The Best Horror of the Year, 4. Ellen Datlow. ‘Nuff said.
  • Great British Horror, Vol 1

And a bonus! While doing research for my last post, I came upon Paul Wegener’s Weimar-era silent film The Golem. I was already planning to watch it and blog about it; it will fit nicely into Peril on the Screen.

And on we go!

11 thoughts on “It’s the Season of Peril Again!

  1. The Morley was a runner up for me (soon, I hope–I added it to my Goodreads last night).

    Der Golem is very good. I’ve seen it a few times. When I was a grad student I wrote a paper about it and Frankenstein and the uncanny all wrapped into one. Enjoy!

    • The Morley seems especially appropriate for this blog – “ghosts literal, fictional, and metaphorical” – and I’ve been meaning to read it for a while.

      I am looking forward to Der Golem. It sounds (from the Wikipedia descriptions) like the original lost version of it was pretty much straight up Frankenstein, and this one is closer to the actual legend. Glad to hear you liked it.

  2. This is a great challenge for finding new books and book blogs–and getting to those books we’ve always meant to read! I try to stack up my mean-to-get-to-them books for Carl’s challenges. 🙂

Leave a Reply

